Being alone

For most of my two-week trip during the holidays I was alone.

I have been fighting this inner battle. It happens because of comparisons I make in my mind. When I see other people together and see them laughing, smiling, etc I feel bad about myself because I think that they are having a better time than me. I assume that I would be happier if I had more people around me too.

I realized that I spend so much time thinking about how having something else would make me happier. Doing this hijacks the comfort and happiness that I am experiencing. On this trip I realized that I like being alone. A lot. Because I like being alone with my thoughts and just watching and thinking without having to do any sharing.

 

Leave a Reply

